Be a “Job” – BE the change

Please, no matter your faith or your faith status, read on…

It is so easy for us as humans to say that “God is good”, especially when good things happen. It’s almost a cliche, a catchphrase “God is good all the time.” It’s like…in our minds we know that, but in our hearts we don’t always think that. How often do we hear people say “why is God letting this happen to me?” Obviously that person isn’t thinking God is good at that moment, right?

Many of us have read Job or have heard the story of Job. In Job 13:15 the Bible states; “Though he slay me, yet will I hope in him; I will surely defend my ways to his face” (NIV). The KJV reads: “Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.” From what I have studied I understand that this means that Job was determined to maintain his cause and defend his character, even though his suffering may go to the point of death. Job truly exhibits faith over feelings. 

When we read further in Job and know that Job lost everything (his children, his livestock, his servants) his reaction was to kneel to the ground and worship God saying; 

Naked I came from my mother’s womb,  and naked I will depart. The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.” 22 In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing.” (NIV)

The KJV reads; Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the Lord gave, and the Lord hath taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord22 In all this Job sinned not, nor charged God foolishly.

Now…how many of us can truly say that we would stay true to what we believe if we lost everything? That we would not sin if we lost everything? Americans go bankrupt and sometimes think that’s awful – imagine losing their families, their homes, the possessions…what would the reaction be? 

I looked at statistics. Honestly I could not find statistics of losing all children and everything else. What I did find were these statistics; 

  • Parents who lose children are 8x more likely to divorce
  • More likely to be significantly depressed 
  • Have shorter lifespans than non-bereaved parents
  • Increases risk of mental illness

So these points bring me to my point – what does this have to do with Job, and what does Job, have to do with me? When I was reading today’s devotional, it made me think…it made me think, what more can I do? What can I do to help people? How can I “be”? While I have never gone through the trauma of losing a child to death, I have gone through the trauma of losing a child to divorce. Quite literally my child (my step-child) was there one day and gone the next. Honestly I never imagined that would happen. What I can do is to help others going through divorce, or have been divorced. I know this pain and I know there is hope.

How can I “be” the change?

How can I ensure that I have unshakeable faith like Job?

The picture below is one way – to spend quality time each day with God. To spend time studying, to spend time in prayer, to spend time helping others – however that may be.

1501843_10202472412149885_547521674_n

The picture below is something I designed for a shirt – and is my slogan for the year.

BE steadfast and evergreen – stand firm, be courageous, be strong, remain steadfast, persevere, and trust. 

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-6-50-07-pm

I believe if I do these things I will grow as an individual, in my faith in God, and I will help others along the way. 

Go out and BE the change. Be EVERGREEN in 2017.

 

“To know Him and to make Him known.”
To know Christ and to make Christ known.

Leave a Reply

