2017 – an uneven year

In theory, 2017 is an uneven year.
a) The # 2017 is an uneven number
b) The sum of 2+0+1+7=10, 1+0=1, so 1, which is an odd number
c) The fact that I’m saying all of this is in fact odd…which I suppose makes this an uneven statement or sentence

15356665_10209743847227147_5010937693441763017_n

Life in general tends to be uneven. I tend to be a planner. I like to have all the details laid out. Yet, no matter how much planning I do, there is always a snag. There is always an “uneven” detail that happens.

 

I couldn’t find a rhyme that was original, I’m too analytical.
You see, life is very unpredictable. 
I try to live a life that is completely Biblical. 
I used to be so egotistical, but I was fixable. 
Then I did the unthinkable, it was a miracle.
I was transformed by the God that is invisible. 

Continuing on…

Before God changed my life, I was an angry person. I was a bitter person. I was a judgmental person. I thought I knew it all. I was a despicable person. On the outside, I “had it all going on.” My life and my family were picture perfect. On the inside, I was a mess. Luckily God had other plans for me. I saw the error of my ways, through His Word (the Bible), it hit me, I asked God to forgive me and I repented of my wrongdoing (sins) and He (God) then transformed me. Transformation by God is a very freeing thing. Very freeing indeed!

So…Don’t let your bitterness and anger rule you (I have – it’s a terrible way to live). There is another way. Don’t make excuses for how you are. There IS another way. Don’t wait until tomorrow. Because tomorrow may never come for you. Unless you’re God you don’t know what tomorrow may bring. Patch up that bad relationship. Forgive someone. Make amends. Be the change…

No matter your lot in life, no matter your religion or lack thereof…be the change. Be the positive influence. Make a difference for the good. Go back to school, quit smoking, etc.

A few things I want to do this year, aka a bucket list: 
– work with divorcees to help them deal with their pain, I’ve been there and done that
– work with divorcees with children
– volunteer in a children’s home or children’s hospital
– go on a missions trip where I can do some good (not sure what yet…open to ideas, with the US)
– start working within the local church again with either Divorce Care or within the youth group

I’ll admit – a passion of mine in the past has been youth. I LOVED working with the teens in my old church (pre-divorce). Unfortunately post-divorce I was not able to continue going there so was unable to continue working with the youth. Since then I’ve moved and just haven’t found “the church” yet where I feel God wants me to be. Moving is hard – finding a great church is even harder! 

I’ll use my picture above as my motivation;
I won’t be afraid to fail. I’ll be afraid not to try”. In other words, it’s better to try and fail, then to have not tried at all. 

Go “be” the change.

Evergreen in 2017. 

The picture is of my “1” child, in an “odd” year, 7th grade.

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/uneven/”>Uneven</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

